Aggravated Battery Defense
Polk County Florida Criminal Defense Firm providing Criminal Aggravated Battery Defense Attorney – Lawyer Legal Services in Lakeland, Winter Haven, Bartow, Polk County, and the surrounding Central Florida area.
What is Aggravated Battery?
According to Florida Criminal Statute §784.045, “aggravated battery” is a criminal battery where the accused intentionally or knowingly causes great bodily harm, permanent disability, or permanent disfigurement; or uses a deadly weapon in the commission of an act of criminal battery.
A person also commits aggravated battery if the person who was the victim of the battery was pregnant at the time of the offense and the offender knew or should have known that the victim was pregnant.
What is the Maximum Aggravated Battery Conviction Penalty?
Whoever commits aggravated battery shall be guilty of a felony of the second degree which has a maximum penalty of 15 years in jail and a $10,000 fine.
Burden of Proof for an Aggravated Battery Conviction
In order for the prosecution to obtain a conviction for aggravated battery, intent must be proven beyond a reasonable doubt. Since intent is often very subjective, an experienced criminal defense attorney may get the aggravated battery charges reduced or may even be able to get the charges dropped or dismissed. For more information regarding the burden of proof relating to aggravated battery charges and potential defense strategies that may be available to you, contact our office by calling 863.937.9100.
If a dismissal of your aggravated battery charge is not possible, we will ensure you are fully aware of your legal options going forward such negotiating for a plea deal, or in the case of a trial ensure you are fully aware of every aspect regarding defense strategies that may best serve in the defense of the charges against you.
It is important to note that if the deadly weapon associated with the aggravated battery is a firearm, additional firearm charges may be included in the indictment depending upon the evidence collected against you.
Florida’s 10-20-Life Law
In 1999 the State of Florida, in an effort to be a pioneering State in reducing and eventually eliminating violent crimes involving firearms, passed and entered into law the 10-20-Life Statue included in 775.087 which stipulates:
A minimum 10 year prison term for certain felonies, or attempted felonies in which the offender possesses a firearm or destructive device;
A minimum 20 year prison term when the firearm is discharged;
A minimum 25 years to LIFE if someone is injured or killed;
A minimum 3 year prison term for possession of a firearm by a felon;
The minimum prison term is to be served consecutively to any other term of imprisonment imposed.
Each aggravated battery defense attorney, lawyer, and staff member in our law firm are ready to assist you in even the most difficult of legal challenges you may be facing. We will aggressively represent your legal needs, interests, and goals regarding your criminal aggravated battery issues, as well as other misdemeanor and felony criminal defense related legal issues.
If you must address aggravated battery defense issues in Lakeland, Winter Haven, Bartow, Polk County, or the surrounding Central Florida area, speak to an experienced aggravated battery defense attorney – lawyer at Carroll Law Group, P.L. today by calling 863.937.9100.